TED Talk – Cynthia Kenyon: Experiments that hint of longer lives


I really enjoyed the talk by Cynthia Kenyon on possible “weak points” in aging processes that can be “attacked” with drugs. Her idea is to identify substances that would make FOXO proteins more active. These proteins are associated with longevity not only in model animals, but also in humans.

The more TED Talks about ways to intervene in aging processes we have, the faster people all around the world would understand the feasibility of life extension therapies. By the way, I was glad to see that there are quite a lot of folks, advocating for longevity in the comments discussion about the video. I think this is another sign of TED audience becoming more and more educated and open-minded in regard to the idea of radical life extension. I would like to address the TED events organizers and ask them to do more talks on the topic of aging.

5 Comments

Filed under genomics

5 responses to “TED Talk – Cynthia Kenyon: Experiments that hint of longer lives

  1. Pingback: Cynthia Kenyon at TEDGlobal Earlier this Year – Longevity Medicine

  2. Pingback: Cynthia Kenyon at TEDGlobal Earlier this Year | Longevity Medicine

  3. There is no permanent solution over there then we adopt some process PhotoDynamic Therapy is safer and more effective than Accutane. Acne Scars can be dramatically minimized with Fraxel.

  4. When I initially left a comment I seem to have clicked on the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and now every time a comment is added I receive four
    emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  5. Rachel Burger

    I am in a love-love relationship with this TED talk–I think that Cynthia Kenyon’s work laid a lot of the foundation for what life extension research is happening today.

    Did you see Elizabeth Blackburn’s talk from 2017? Or any of these other top longevity TED talks since 2015?

Leave a comment